Posted on

Discovering Aldous Huxley’s “Brave New World”

So as I mentioned before, I’ve got so much books at home I’ve got books coming out of my ears.

Thus I have been reading like mad, reading my way through all the unread books and continuning with this, I have discovered how interesting Aldous Huxley‘s “Brave New World” is. Since I like books like George Orwell’s 1984 and Animal Farm, Ayn Rand‘s Anthem, and the mother of all novels utopian or dystopian, Sir Thomas More‘s Utopia, Aldous Huxley’s novel is right up my alley.

Now, I’ve read my share of utopian/dystopian visions of the world gone awry. In fact, these literary novels have been adapted for the screen or have enjoyed post-modern incarnations in popular blockbusters as “The Matrix”, “Gattaca”, and any number of Steven Spielberg-inspired films, but this novel, written in the 1930s, makes it all the more refreshing. In fact, as I was reading it, I was surprised at how eeriely it captures the kind of (post)modern, (post)industrial, global, consumerist/capitalist life that we have.  The scary thing about this 1930s’ novel is that humans are engineered, brainwashed and deliberately conditioned to form castes, lifestyles, attitudes, behaviors, perceptions and so on in order for them to function as useful members of society. People share each other (physically, sexually)  in a communal, off-hand, casual way, the idea of property, ownership, spirituality and relationships are abolished, and the idea of freedom and individuality extinguished. What makes this book so interesting is that it effectively describes what we are going through now, except that we have been conditioned even without having been brainwashed or engineered to have these kinds of lifestyles, attitudes, behaviors, perceptions and prejudices.

Pretty riveting stuff. I recommend it.

About Geek

loves books,movies, music, art, philosophy, studying

Leave a Reply

