Posted on

Sundays with the DVD Junkie: Reading ain’t in in the P.I.

So I had this seminar today at the city’s Convention Center on the importance of reading and how to motivate your students and how to sell yourself more through a new and improved CV or resume.

As is wont in these cases, I overprepared and assumed that since there will be professionals attending I’d have to sound more professional than usual.

I was expecting a lot of participants from diverse professional backgrounds so imagine my surprise when there were even enough to fill the hall and that most of them were not even responsive to my lecture.

Sigh.

When I was talking about the importance of reading and how increasing one’s reading prowess makes one a better teacher, employee and a better person, there was no reaction. I’d realized that the assumption that Filipinos are not readers is true, and that if that is the case, then we were doomed.

I had more luck with the CV/resume lecture in the afternoon. I hope that was better.

I’m so exhausted and saddened by the state of Philippine literacy that I am going to make myself feel better by reading a book and by watching Mylene Dizon’s “100” which is now out on DVD.

Cheers everyone!

About Geek

loves books,movies, music, art, philosophy, studying

Leave a Reply

