Posted on

7 days….!

I have packed everything now save what is on my back. I thus have no bed sheet, no pillows, no blankets, no kitchen utensils, no pots and pans to cook in. I have thus resorted to covering myself with the mattress and sleeping on the carpet to keep myself warm. I have resorted to eating canned goods and heating them up in the backyard. Since I’ve packed my spoons and forks, I’ve resorted to eating with my hands as well. I try to minimize my use of clothes since I’ve packed all of that away already, along with the necessary toiletries. I don’t do laundry anymore also. I don’t want to open the box anymore because we’ve already sealed it with duct tape and packing tape – an art form that I had only recently learned. That means no showering as well. Sure, there are more flies hovering around my window waiting to pounce, but hey! small price to pay for readying yourself up to go home. My only consolation now is that I still have my laptop, where I can wilf for Lisa Ray/Sheetal Sheth fan vids (which are actually better than the actual movies, because they go straight to the naughty bits) as I count the days to my flight home.

I am going home and there’s no going back. 🙂 Especially as I have spent 400 quid on a non-refundable ticket. So all you folks (Filipinos or otherwise, but mostly these random Filipino strangers who feel inexplicably entitled to give me unsolicited advice) who want me to stay, let me just say these things right now:

  1. No, I don’t do care work, child care, whatever. I don’t do fastfood work either. I know that kind of life fulfills you. But it doesn’t do it for me. I would do it if I get to keep the child  or I get to keep my cute Indian (female) co-workers (who all seem to look like Sheetal Sheth) at the end of the day, but since I cannot, I might as well go home!
  2. No, I don’t do TNT (Filipino slang meaning “to stay in a country illegally”).  That clandestine,arcane life of dodging immigration officers, coming out only to work at night, staying in seedy flats, windows all boarded up, and always looking behind to make sure no-one’s following you, is not for me.
  3. No, I won’t do cross-country. Because why would I go to another country to be treated like a second-class citizen, when I can just go back home and be treated like that there?
  4. No, I do not want to marry some random English guy just so I can get a permanent residency (are you listening, random middle-aged Filipino lady at the flight centre?). I’m not that desperate. Besides, why would I marry for a visa? I’d marry for (loads of) money, yes, but not for a visa.

For those folks back home who think I am just a carefree bum here – you are a jackass. You don’t know what it’s like to be living, studying, working abroad, under harsh conditions, so shut up.

Now that I have that off my chest, let me just say, thank you for those who have been reading my blog. I am excited to see friends and family back home, and I finally have an epiphany.

During months of being holed up in London, attending West End workshops, studying management, writing, working, watching movies and TV shows, reading books, going around galleries and museums, blogging, and so on – something came together yesterday. Something that makes so much sense to me now. I suddenly know what to do.

I won’t tell you just yet. But I will once I’ve hit touch down and it’s off the ground.

Can’t begin to tell you how excited I am. 🙂

(Points for you if you get the tone of this post. haha!)

About Geek

loves books,movies, music, art, philosophy, studying

2 responses to “7 days….!

  1. oh my my.. my smelly friend..
    welcome back to your home country.

Leave a Reply

