Posted on

Wednesdays at Oxfam

Busy reconnecting with people back home so I don’t feel much of  an outsider when I get back.  Emailed former editor, former boss, friends, family, even acquaintances I met in lesbian and gay conferences ages ago! 🙂 At the same time, I am getting people’s emails here as well, just so I can easily transition from London to Baguio to Manila in the space of a heartbeat. 🙂 Also because I think blogging, emailing, looking for jobs, hatching evil ideas so they can become projects, working, and catching up on much-needed partying will be good for me – take me away from the reverse culture shock and adaptation logistics.

Today, I went to Oxfam to volunteer. I culled, filled up near empty rails, went around the shop just giving any suspicious would-be shoplifter the evil eye, writing a paragraph for Oxfam’s “Write-a-paragraph-for-a-pound” venture, which is kind of funny – I pay them so I can write a paragraph. Usually people pay me to write. At the same time, trying to stay away from till, where volunteers almost always seem to be drawn to, congregating around the till person chatting and gossiping and whatever until the team leader comes and breaks up the crowd.

Esoteric Oxfam joke I came up with: “How many Oxfam volunteers does it take to change a lightbulb?”

Answer: A lot.

One to cull the lightbulbs.

One to top up the empty lightbulb sockets.

One to distribute the flyers outside announcing that we are changing lightbulbs.

One to be on the shop floor and make sure no one nicks the lightbulbs.

One to buy the lightbulb.

One to complain about how the capitalists are taking over the world.

One to be upset about that the complainer.

A few to gather around the till just to gossip about the lightbulb changing.

One random manager randomly just going out for coffee.

One to actually change the light bulb. 🙂

This is in contrast with: How many corporate geniuses does it take to change a lightbulb?

Answer: Just one. He will outsource it to India. 🙂

(If you don’t get the two jokes, email me. Or just volunteer in any Oxfam GB shop. It will help Oxfam and help poor countries around the world as well).

Random thought: Co-volunteer asks me – Am I gay?

My answer: Am I gay? I’m ecstatic! haha 🙂

Anyway, it was a busy day: there was a book reading with children (which consisted only of one child. He was the only one interested in reading. State of the nation right there!), and a lot of customers panic buying for books and quality clothes. If I didn’t know any better I’d think the economy is picking up! 🙂

About Geek

loves books,movies, music, art, philosophy, studying

2 responses to “Wednesdays at Oxfam

  1. Loved the ‘are you gay question and your remark–Ha! Yes, of course you’re estatic and happy and gay…nice comeback indeed.

Leave a Reply

